Racine Alderman Jim Kaplan will not run for re-election in 2016.

After serving on the Common Council for 10 years, Kaplan has decided not seek re-election, a story in The Journal Times reads.

Kaplan is a retired city employee who was first elected to represent the 4th District in 2005. He told the newspaper that he feels he’s done his part to make the city safer but now it’s time to give someone else the opportunity to serve.

“It is a lot safer to live around here than it was 9½ years ago and I feel confident that I served time and that I did good,” he is quoted as saying. “I think it’s time I just sit back and let somebody else expend some energy.”

All even-numbered seats are up for grabs in April, and only four of the seven incumbents have filed declarations for candidacy:

  • Sandy Weidner (6th District)
  • Q.A. Shakoor, II, (8th District)
  • Dennis Wiser (10th District)
  • Henry Perez (12th District)

John Dunk, owner of John’s Dock restaurant downtown, will run for Kaplan’s seat, Jennifer Adamski-Torres will challenge Weidner in the 6th District, and Jason Meekma will seek a seat in the 14th District.

Alderman Ron Hart has not yet decided if he will run for re-election, the story continues, and Mollie Jones (2nd District) told the newspaper that she will probably run again for her seat. She was appointed earlier this year to fill a vacancy after Krystyna Sarrazin moved away from Racine.

Candidates have until Jan. 5 to turn their nomination packets into the city clerk’s office. The general election is April 5.

Click here for a list of districts and the council members who represent them.