Follow Us

Voting Button

by Heather Asiyanbi

Residents interested in running for a seat on the village board in either Mount Pleasant and Sturtevant can now officially take out nomination papers and circulate them for signatures.

Packets are due back to either Mount Pleasant Village Hall or Sturtevant Village Hall by 5 p.m. Jan. 7.

In Mount Pleasant, Trustees Jerry Garski, Gary Feest and Don Schulz are up for re-election. Schulz was appointed to the board in April to fill the seat left vacant by Trustee Harry Manning’s death.

In Sturtevant, Trustees Jayme Hoffman, Gary Johnson and Linda Busha are up for re-election. Hoffman is a first-time trustee who would be running for a second term.

Trustee terms are for two years. Incumbents have until Dec. 27 to declare their non-candidacy.

Mount Pleasant Village Hall is located at 8811 Campus Drive. Sturtevant Village Hall is located at 2801 89th Street.