Follow Us

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The votes were tallied at the 2015 Snowdance 10-minute Comedy Festival and the winner was…

Drum roll please: Confession Air, written by Matthew Konkel, of Milwaukee. Konkel received the “Best in Snow” award along with $300 cash at the closing ceremony, which was held Sunday, March 8 at the 6th Street Theatre. The play featured “an errant wife, her husband, and an increasingly intoxicated flight attendant on a doomed flight,” according to a press release.

Over 1,850 people voted in the comedy festival, which featured 10 plays performed by Over Our Head Players.

The play titled The Full Washington, written by Racine residents Michael Johnson and Amy Hanson, earned second place. The third place award went to Philip Kaplan, of Brooklyn, New York, for his play titled Last Words.

Second and third place awards were each $100.

The acting and directing ensemble featured John Adams, Kristin Althoff, Elizabeth Bitner, Diane Carlson, Skip Carlson, Sea Daniel, Brandy Harrell, Kevin Hlavka, Nicholas Hoyt, Brianna Hubbard, Mary Kveton, Quanashia Myers, Ron Schulz, Robbie Shaw, Rich Smith, and Kevin Sustachek.  The additional production staff also included Joseph Piirto, Janine Anderson, Anna Clementi, Paula Ann Czechowicz, Preston Hill, Rosie Hemm, Jerry Horton, Ken Kveton, Christopher Larson, Ryan Loberger, Wendy Schulz, Jim Smith, Emily Sweetman, and Leslie Utech.

Denise Lockwood has an extensive background in traditional and non-traditional media. She has written for, the Milwaukee Business Journal, Milwaukee Magazine and the Kenosha News.