… we have a small favor to ask. Thousands of people have placed their trust in the Racine County Eye’s high-impact journalism because we focus on solutions-based journalism.

With no shareholders or billionaire owners, we can provide trustworthy journalism that focuses on helping readers.

Unlike many others, Racine County Eye’s journalism is available for everyone to read, regardless of what they can afford to pay. We do this because we believe in information equality. Greater numbers of people can keep track of events, understand their impact on people and communities, and become inspired to take meaningful action.

If there were ever a time to join us, it is now. Every contribution, however big or small, powers our journalism and sustains our future. Support the Racine County Eye from as little as $5 – it only takes a minute. Thank you.


Your contribution is appreciated.

Several upsets have taken place in Sturtevant, Caledonia, one aldermanic race in Racine, and Mount Pleasant where the incumbents  lost their seat.

Long-time Village President Steve Jansen lost against Jayme Hoffman. Mike Rosenbaum, Mark Villalpando, and John Johnson made the cut for Sturtevant Village Trustee. Mount Pleasant Village President Jerry Garski lost against David DeGroot, who also won his seat for village trustee.

Here are the latest election results for the 2017 Spring election. Please keep checking back for more results.

City of Racine Referendum

Yes 3,597

No 858

State Superintendent

Tony Evers 12,793

Lowell E. Holtz 8,164

Caledonia Village Trustee

Jay Benkowski 1,244

David Prott 1,164

Elmwood Park Village President

Ellis Steiner 44

Kathleen J. Wells 80

Elmwood Park Village Trustee

Kathleen J. Wells 98

Laura Rude 101

Ernie S. Rossi 105

Mount Pleasant Village President

Jerry Garski  1,636

David DeGroot  2,156

Mount Pleasant Village Trustee No. 1

Charles Haakma 1,327

John C. Hewitt 2,300

Mount Pleasant Village Trustee No. 3

Sonny Havn 1,923

Dale Steger 1,767

Mount Pleasant Village Trustee No. 5

John Martini 1,788

David DeGroot 1,939

Racine Alderperson, District No. 1

Jeff Coe 134

Cortney Marshall 82

Racine Alderperson, District No. 3 

Michael D. Shields 179

John Tate, II 184

Racine Alderperson, District No. 5  

David Ley 100

Steve Smetana 351

Racine Alderperson, District No. 7

Raymond J. DeHahn 231

Eric L. Mohr 102

Racine Alderperson, District No. 15

Jerry Hooyman 142

Melissa Lemke 537

Sturtevant Village President

Steven D. Jansen 214

Jayme Hoffman 338

Sturtevant Village Trustee

Chris Wright 281

Mike Rosenbaum 367

Mark Villalpando 339

John Johnson 310

Wind Point Village Trustee

Charles Manning 200

Martin C. Meissner 197

Donald Gloo 181


Advertising disclosure
To support our site and content, we work with partners to present valuable offers to help you save, earn, and get ahead. We may be compensated for the purchase of goods and services made through the links in this offer program.
Offers for you
Curated offers for our readers
advertiser disclosure
Coding for kids! Introducing programming games for the next generation. Get your kids coding today.
Start with a free trial.
Start with a free trial.

Get your students coding in no time!

CodeMonkey is a fun and educational game-based environment where kids learn to code without any prior experience. After completing CodeMonkey's award-winning coding courses, kids will be able to navigate through the programming world with a sense of confidence and accomplishment.

Kids will love learning to code with CodeMonkey

  • Ready to Go Courses. With CodeMonkey’s teacher kit and support team, anyone can teach the basics of computer science.
  • Real Coding Languages. CodeMonkey's courses teach text-based coding so students learn to program like a real developer.
  • Game-Based Learning. Kids learn coding in an engaging and rewarding environment that utilizes gaming elements.

Free Trial - Enjoy a full-blown gaming experience that will teach your kids to code!

Denise Lockwood has an extensive background in traditional and non-traditional media. She has written for Patch.com, the Milwaukee Business Journal, Milwaukee Magazine and the Kenosha News.