Follow Us

A special mayoral election is set for Tuesday and City of Racine residents will choose between Sandy Weidner and Cory Mason for the job.

Here is the biographical information they submitted to Racine County Eye.

Sandy Weidner

Sandy Weidner is the current alderperson for Racine’s 6th district. A graduate of Horlick High School, she has a Bachelor of Science from the University of Wisconsin.

In the late 1980s, she worked for the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) Council 40. Then from 1991 to 2012, she was at the office of Employees International Union.

She has served in her current aldermanic position since 2000, council president in 2006 and on the Board of Cemetery Commissioners from 2000 to 2017.

Weidner is a lifelong resident of Racine. She has three children and four grandchildren.

And when she’s not working, she’s putzing in her garden.

Cory Mason

Representative Cory Mason represents the 66th Assembly District in the Wisconsin State Legislature. He was first elected to the Wisconsin State Assembly in 2006 and re-elected in 2008, 2010, 2012, and 2014.

Mason is currently the ranking Assembly Democratic member of the Assembly Committee on Environment and Forestry, the Joint Legislative Council, and Joint Survey Committee on Retirement Systems. Representative Mason also serves on the Assembly Committee on Tourism.

He previously served as the ranking Assembly Democratic member of the Joint Committee on Finance, the Assembly Natural Resources Committee, the Assembly Committee on Labor, as well as serving as the Vice-Chair of a Special Legislative Study Committee on Infant Mortality.

A fifth-generation Racine resident and a graduate of Case High School, Mason received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Philosophy from the University of Wisconsin – Madison. Representative Mason and his wife, Rebecca, live in Racine with their three young children, Eleanor Roosevelt Mason, Amelia Earhart Mason, and Cory H. Mason V.

In addition to his legislative committees, Mason is Chair of the Great Lakes Legislative Caucus, an active member of the Root River Council,  a former board member of the River Alliance of Wisconsin, and the former co-chair of the I-94 Labor Development Committee.

Mason was named the 2009-2010 Legislator of the Year by the Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association for his consistently strong support of Wisconsin’s technical colleges.

He has received several other notable awards in recent months, including the 2014 Children’s Champion Policy Award by the Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin; the 2013 Friend of the UW Award by the United Council of UW Students; the River Champion Award by the River Alliance of Wisconsin; being named 2012 Legislator of the Year by the Professional Firefighters of Wisconsin; being named both a Conservation Champion and to the Conservation Honor Roll for 2011-2012 by the Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters; and he was also given an Award of Merit by the Wisconsin Association for Career and Technical Education.

Denise Lockwood has an extensive background in traditional and non-traditional media. She has written for, the Milwaukee Business Journal, Milwaukee Magazine and the Kenosha News.