Follow us

A Kenosha student has been named a finalist for the 2022 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic  Association’s (WIAA) Statewide Scholar-Athlete Awards. In the state of Wisconsin, 16 senior girls and 16 senior boys have been selected as finalists to receive this prestigious award.

The award program, underwritten by Marshfield Children’s Hospital, began in 1984 and since has recognized more than 1,100 Scholar-Athlete finalists. The top 32 finalists were determined based on both athletic and academic achievement. Four boys and four girls were selected from each of the four WIAA divisions.

This year, more than 830 seniors were nominated for the 2022 WIAA Scholar-Athlete Award by 430  high schools throughout the state. Of the more than 400 high schools submitting nominations this year, six schools had a finalist for the first time in the 37-year history of the WIAA Scholar-Athlete program. This included Mike Brown, Butternut High School; Brennen Dvorachek, Reedsville High School; Evan Guenther, Monticello High School; Sam Heicher, Lake Country Lutheran High School; Elizabeth Roll, Prescott High  School; and Lexie Weier, Mount Horeb High School. 

“These extraordinary student-athletes excel in both academics and athletics,” said Tom Shafranski, Assistant Director of the  WIAA. “Sixteen of this year’s 32 WIAA Scholar Athlete finalists have a grade point average of 4.0  to date, while the average GPA is an amazing 3.94. All 32 scholar-athlete finalists have already earned a total of 291 varsity letters during their first 3-1/2 years of high school. That’s an average  of 9 letters per athlete, and we have not yet completed our spring sports season.” 

Kenosha’s Standout

Among the 32 scholar-athlete finalists is Kenosha’s very own, Ryan Whynott. He’s earned seven varsity letters in soccer and tennis.

Kenosha student Ryan Whynott
Tremper High School senior Ryan Whynott was nominated for the 2022 WIAA Scholar-Athlete Award. – Credit: Kenosha Unified School District

The senior at Tremper High School has played varsity soccer for the Trojans during the 2020 to 2021 school year and the 2021 to 2022 school year. According to Maxpreps, he has played in 30 games, scored 18 goals, and has had 5 assists. He helped the Trojans win three conference championships and a sectional championship.

Additionally, he has been a member of the Trojan’s Tennis team. He won two individual tennis
sectional championships, and helped his team win a conference title.

Whynott was also named:

  • Oct 12, 2021 – Player of the Game, soccer match against Oak Creek High School
  • Oct 28, 2021 – Player of the Game, soccer match against Franklin High School

2022 WIAA Scholar-Athlete Finalists 

Division 1 Boys

  • Austin Henderson, Neenah, Neenah High School 
  • Mason King, Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa East High School 
  • Nate Streveler, Stevens Point, Stevens Point Area Senior High 
  • Ryan Whynott, Kenosha, Kenosha Tremper High School

Division 2 Boys

  • Simon Bauer, Durand, Durand High School 
  • Jake Engebritson, Rice Lake, Rice Lake High School  
  • Rory Fox, Waukesha, Catholic Memorial High School 
  • Josh Terrian, Pewaukee, Pewaukee High School

Division 3 Boys

  • Karson Casper, Coleman, Coleman High School 
  • Brennen Dvorachek, Reedsville, Reedsville High School 
  • Tanner Gerber, Cameron, Cameron High School 
  • Sam Heicher, New Berlin, Lake Country Lutheran High School

Division 4 Boys

  • Mike Brown, Butternut, Butternut High School 
  • Thomas Derleth, Berlin, Lourdes Academy 
  • Evan Guenther, Monroe, Monticello High School 
  • Taedon Nichols, Siren, Siren High School

Division 1 Girls

  • Kate Graham, Whitefish Bay, Whitefish Bay High School 
  • Kacey Ott, Slinger, Slinger High School 
  • Lauren Pansegrau, Verona, Middleton High School 
  • Rebecca Siedenburg, Wales, Kettle Moraine High School

Division 2 Girls

  • Hailey Anchor, Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin Dells High School 
  • Sophie Moravec, Milwaukee, Martin Luther High School 
  • Elizabeth Rohl, River Falls, Prescott High School 
  • Lexie Weier, Mineral Point, Mount Horeb High School

Division 3 Girls

  • Bridee Burks, Lancaster, Lancaster High School 
  • Jada Eggebrecht, Phillips, Phillips High School 
  • Alexis Slater, Grantsburg, Grantsburg High School 
  • Ryann Wagner, Lena, Gillett High School 

Division 4 Girls

  • Ella Chambers, Mineral Point, Mineral Point High School 
  • Anelise Egge, Viola, Kickapoo High School 
  • Elizabeth Krawze, Laona, Wabeno High School 
  • Kayci Martensen, Benton, Benton High School

Awards Ceremony

An awards ceremony for the 2022 WIAA Scholar-Athlete Finalists will take place on Sunday, May 1 at the Hilton Garden Inn, 151401 County Road Nn, in Wausau. Karyn Bye, Olympic Gold Medalist, will be present as the keynote speaker. She was a member of the U.S. Women’s 1998 Hockey Team and a recent inductee into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame. Additionally, she was recently inducted into the National High School Hall of Fame.

A webcast of the awards ceremony will be available at after the ceremony on May 1. For more information, visit the WIAA website.

The Racine County Eye’s Wisco Huddle is your connection to statewide high school sports. Subscribe today to stay up-to-date with your favorite teams.

Follow us on Facebook: Racine County Eye or Kenosha Lens, and Twitter to make sure you get the latest news.