Seven positions are up for the taking on the Racine Common Council in the spring election on April 5, but only five people have submitted campaign registration papers.

The even numbered seats will be on the ballot, which are currently held by:

  •  Mollie Jones, 2nd District Alderman
  • Jim Kaplan, 4th District Alderman,
  • Sandy Weidner, 6th District Alderman
  • Q.A. Shakoor, 8th District Alderman
  • Dennis Wiser, 10th District Alderman
  • Henry Perez, 12th District Alderman
  • Ronald Hart, 14th District Alderman

All of the incumbents, except Jones, Kaplan and Wiser returned their campaign registration papers. Political newcomer Jen Adamski-Torres also returned her campaign registration papers. The filing deadline to return the campaign registration papers is 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 5 to file them.

The Common Council positions pay $6,900 per year.


Love what we do?

In addition to our education features, we’ll be kicking off a series of stories highlighting how parents, students, and educators are adapting to the impact of COVID-19 on education. If this is important to you, please consider donating to our education reporting fund.

Denise Lockwood has an extensive background in traditional and non-traditional media. She has written for, the Milwaukee Business Journal, Milwaukee Magazine and the Kenosha News.

One reply on “7 Seats Open On Racine Common Council In Spring”