Follow Us

Former Trustee Jerry Garski is the new village president in Mount Pleasant.

With complete totals reported shortly before 11 p.m., Garski led incumbent Mark Gleason by less than 400 votes, 2417 to 2024 with all polling locations reported.

All of Mount Pleasant’s incumbent trustees retained their seats, and David DeGroot lead the pack much the same way he did when he was first elected in 2013.

He ended the night with 3,111 votes. Incumbents John Hewitt and Sonny Havn were in second and third place with 2,818 and 2,451, respectively. Challenger Drake Miller was a distant fourth with less than 2,000 votes, registering 1,769 by the time all the ballots were counted.

The village had a total turnout of about 30 percent.