Follow Us

Now that the Mount Pleasant Civic Affairs Committee is a go and trustees have been appointed, residents who are interested in promoting the village as a great place to live, work and play are being asked to put in for the four non-elected positions.

Village President Mark Gleason first introduced the idea of a civic affairs committee last April so members can highlight village history, organize events to bring in more visitors and get residents more involved, and shine a brighter light in general on Mount Pleasant.

“We have no history, and our committee could put together a display of where we’ve been and where we might go,” he said then. “Pieces of our history should be displayed because they’re very interesting. The committee could bring out the best so when we promote, we have something to show that this is the best place to live in Wisconsin.”

At the village board meeting Monday trustees unanimously approved creating the committee, and Gleason appointed Trustee AnnaMarie Clausen as its chair with board members Sonny Havn and John Hewitt as the other two elected officials. Police Chief Tim Zarzecki and South Shore Fire Chief Robert Stedman will each name a member of their respective departments to serve on the committee.

The group will round out with four citizen members. Trustee committee members will review applications and the full board will vote on their inclusion.

“This is the best thing for Mount Pleasant,” Gleason said after the vote. “We have suffered from a identity crisis because we’re not Racine, but we’re not a little town. I hope for a lot of citizen participation.”

Residents who are interested in serving on the committee should call Village Hall at (262) 664-7800 for an application.