… we have a small favor to ask. Thousands of people have placed their trust in the Racine County Eye’s high-impact journalism because we focus on solutions-based journalism.

With no shareholders or billionaire owners, we can provide trustworthy journalism that focuses on helping readers.

Unlike many others, Racine County Eye’s journalism is available for everyone to read, regardless of what they can afford to pay. We do this because we believe in information equality. Greater numbers of people can keep track of events, understand their impact on people and communities, and become inspired to take meaningful action.

If there were ever a time to join us, it is now. Every contribution, however big or small, powers our journalism and sustains our future. Support the Racine County Eye from as little as $5 – it only takes a minute. Thank you.


Your contribution is appreciated.

Congratulations are in order for 24 Racine Unified freshmen for being recently named History Award Winners by both the district and the Racine Heritage Museum.

This award program has been going strong for 28 years, according to the district and recognizes freshman students for high achievement and for demonstrating genuine interest in high school history.

Students were presented with a certificate of achievement during a special reception on May 12 at the museum. Each award recipient also took home a copy of That’s Not in My American History Book by Thomas Ayers. Alex Framsted – a Horlick senior who received this award as a freshman – was the keynote speaker.

Here is the full list of History Award Winners:

Park High School

  • Deshawn Bryce
  • Jacob Gabrielian
  • Simeon Higgins
  • Sam Robertson
  • Tajone Campbell Stewart
  • Evelyn Salazar
  • Kaylee Kannenberg

Case High School

  • Alyson Ziegenhagen
  • Alex Shaw
  • Anneliese Tomlinson
  • Mitchell Mertens
  • Stephen Hull
  • Nick Venne
  • Jocelin Reynoso

REAL School

  • Jacob Johnson

Walden III

  • Michael Christenson
  • Tiana Sidoi

Horlick High School

  • Claveese Williams
  • Rachel Weisenbeck
  • Talitha Gudal
  • Patrick Miller
  • Sofia Nikolic
  • Gretchen Koepsel

Advertising disclosure
To support our site and content, we work with partners to present valuable offers to help you save, earn, and get ahead. We may be compensated for the purchase of goods and services made through the links in this offer program.
Offers for you
Curated offers for our readers
advertiser disclosure
Coding for kids! Introducing programming games for the next generation. Get your kids coding today.
Start with a free trial.
Start with a free trial.

Get your students coding in no time!

CodeMonkey is a fun and educational game-based environment where kids learn to code without any prior experience. After completing CodeMonkey's award-winning coding courses, kids will be able to navigate through the programming world with a sense of confidence and accomplishment.

Kids will love learning to code with CodeMonkey

  • Ready to Go Courses. With CodeMonkey’s teacher kit and support team, anyone can teach the basics of computer science.
  • Real Coding Languages. CodeMonkey's courses teach text-based coding so students learn to program like a real developer.
  • Game-Based Learning. Kids learn coding in an engaging and rewarding environment that utilizes gaming elements.

Free Trial - Enjoy a full-blown gaming experience that will teach your kids to code!