Five new officers were ceremoniously sworn in Monday at the Mount Pleasant Village Board meeting, but have officially been members of the force for a couple of weeks.

Jared Smetana, Drew Wroblewski, Malcom Kelly, Garret Ostergaard, and Steven Riegelman were officially sworn in Jan. 7 by Village Clerk Stephanie Kohlhagen.

Four of the five new officers started officer training school on Jan. 11 at Gateway Technical College, and the fifth is already a graduate and has been out on the road in field officer training.