Eight aldermanic districts and a municipal judgeship are on the ballot this spring in the City of Racine.

In two aldermanic  districts the incumbent alderman, Terrence McCarthy in the ninth and Jim Morgenroth on the fifteenth, are running unopposed for the April 4 election. Racine residents living in the fifteenth district will have a primary on Feb. 21.

Alderman serve two-year terms and make about $6,900 from the job.

In the first district, incumbent Jeff Coe has a challenger in Cortney Marshall of Lake Avenue.

Michael Shields the third district incumbent is facing off against challenger John Tate II of Biscayne Avenue.

Steve Smetena is being challenged for his fifth district seat by David Ley of Main Street.

In the seventh, the incumbent Ray Dehahn is running against Eric Moor of Shoop Avenue.

Mary Land, the incumbent in the 11th district, is being challenged by Melissa Mauldin of West Lawn Avenue.

In the fifteenth district the incumbent Melissa Lemke has two challengers in Dennis Shaw of Lighthouse Drive and Jerry Hooyman of Wilshire Drive.

Rebecca Mason is running unopposed for her municipal judgeship. A municipal judge’s term lasts four years, but this election will only fill an unexpired term for one year.


Denise Lockwood has an extensive background in traditional and non-traditional media. She has written for Patch.com, the Milwaukee Business Journal, Milwaukee Magazine and the Kenosha News.