As expected, turnout for the election Tuesday was low, and Sturtevant was no different.

Out of around 3,500 registered voters, only 203 residents cast ballots.

Incumbent Trustees Jayme Hoffman and Gary Johnson and former Trustee Daryl Lynaugh were the only names on the ballot for village board. Hoffman garnered the most votes with 134; Johnson came in at 132; and Lynaugh received 115.

For the Racine Unified Board of Education, here’s how village residents voted:

  • Melvin Hargrove (I) – 88
  • Thomas Fineran – 53
  • Pamala Handrow (I) – 112
  • Jacqueline Pinager – 74
  • Dennis Wiser (I) – 100
  • Wally Rendon (I) – 75
  • Henry Perez – 66

As of 9:25 p.m., The Journal Times was reporting the four incumbents were taking an early lead.

Love what we do?

In addition to our education features, we’ll be kicking off a series of stories highlighting how parents, students, and educators are adapting to the impact of COVID-19 on education. If this is important to you, please consider donating to our education reporting fund.