… we have a small favor to ask. Thousands of people have placed their trust in the Racine County Eye’s high-impact journalism because we focus on solutions-based journalism.

With no shareholders or billionaire owners, we can provide trustworthy journalism that focuses on helping readers.

Unlike many others, Racine County Eye’s journalism is available for everyone to read, regardless of what they can afford to pay. We do this because we believe in information equality. Greater numbers of people can keep track of events, understand their impact on people and communities, and become inspired to take meaningful action.

If there were ever a time to join us, it is now. Every contribution, however big or small, powers our journalism and sustains our future. Support the Racine County Eye from as little as $5 – it only takes a minute. Thank you.


Your contribution is appreciated.

Only incumbents so far in the villages of Caledonia, Mount Pleasant and Sturtevant have taken out nomination papers for the April 2015 general election.

Interested candidates have until 5 p.m. January 6, 2015 to turn in their nomination packets, which include the necessary number of signatures and a declaration of candidacy form.

Mount Pleasant Village Clerk Stephanie Kohlhagen said there is no deadline to take out papers so if someone thinks they can gather the 20 signatures needed to run for a seat on the village board in just a matter of days, she has packets available.

“There is no deadline to pick up packets, but I would think you’d need some time to fill out the forms and talk with people for signatures,” she said.

Anyone interested in running for their respective village board can pick up nomination packets from their village hall.

We will update this story if additional residents take out nomination papers, but, for now, here’s who’s running in each of the villages:

Caledonia – Seats are numbered, but trustees serve at large

Village President Bob Bradley
Village Board Trustee No. 1 David A. Prott
Village Board Trustee No. 3 Kevin Wanggaard
Village Board Trustee No. 5 Jim Dobbs
Village Clerk Karie Torkilsen

Mount Pleasant – all trustees serve at large

Village President Mark Gleason
Village Board Trustee David DeGroot
Village Board Trustee Sonny Havn
Village Board Trustee John Hewitt

Sturtevant – all trustees serve at large

Village President Steve Jansen
Village Board Trustee John Johnson
Village Board Trustee Chris Larsen
Village Board Trustee Chris Wright

Advertising disclosure
To support our site and content, we work with partners to present valuable offers to help you save, earn, and get ahead. We may be compensated for the purchase of goods and services made through the links in this offer program.
Offers for you
Curated offers for our readers
advertiser disclosure
Coding for kids! Introducing programming games for the next generation. Get your kids coding today.
Start with a free trial.
Start with a free trial.

Get your students coding in no time!

CodeMonkey is a fun and educational game-based environment where kids learn to code without any prior experience. After completing CodeMonkey's award-winning coding courses, kids will be able to navigate through the programming world with a sense of confidence and accomplishment.

Kids will love learning to code with CodeMonkey

  • Ready to Go Courses. With CodeMonkey’s teacher kit and support team, anyone can teach the basics of computer science.
  • Real Coding Languages. CodeMonkey's courses teach text-based coding so students learn to program like a real developer.
  • Game-Based Learning. Kids learn coding in an engaging and rewarding environment that utilizes gaming elements.

Free Trial - Enjoy a full-blown gaming experience that will teach your kids to code!